Season Twelve: Structure (aka Theory and Technique)

Episode Topic Podcasts Transcripts
First Person First
1 Variations on First Person http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/01/01/12-1-variations-on-first-person/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/125311.html
2 How to Nail Character Voice in First Person http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/01/08/12-2-how-to-nail-character-voice-in-first-person/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/125509.html
3 Project In Depth, "Risk Assessment," by Sandra Tayler http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/01/15/12-3-project-in-depth-risk-assessment-by-sandra-tayler/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/125868.html
4 Hybrid Viewpoints http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/01/22/12-4-hybrid-viewpoints/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/126204.html
5 Literary Fiction http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/01/29/12-5-literary-fiction/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/126368.html
Third Person POV
6 Variations on Third Person http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/02/05/12-6-variations-on-third-person/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/126621.html
7 Description Through the Third Person Lens http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/02/12/12-7-description-through-the-third-person-lens/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/126897.html
8 Short Stories As Exploration, with Tananarive Due http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/02/19/12-8-short-stories-as-exploration-with-tananarive-due/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/126978.html
9 Q&A on Viewpoint http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/02/26/12-9-qa-on-viewpoint/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/127470.html
Style
10 Developing Your Own, Personal Style http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/03/05/12-10-developing-your-own-personal-style/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/127525.html
11 Diction http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/03/12/12-11-diction/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/127810.html
12 Words as Words, with Linda Addison http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/03/19/12-12-words-as-words-with-linda-addison/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/128081.html
13 Beautiful Prose, Purple Prose ttp://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/03/26/12-13-beautiful-prose-purple-prose/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/128298.html
Sentence, Paragraph, Scene
14 Controlling Pacing With Structure http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/04/03/12-14-controlling-pacing-with-structure/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/128741.html
15 Pacing with Chapters http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/04/09/12-15-pacing-with-chapters/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/128941.html
16 Writing Crime Fiction with Brian Keene http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/04/16/12-16-writing-crime-fiction-with-brian-keene/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/129043.html
17 Q&A On Style, Diction, and Paragraphing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/04/23/12-17-qa-on-style-diction-and-paragraphing/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/128976.html
18 Gendered Dialect, with J. R. Johansson http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/04/30/12-18-gendered-dialect-with-j-r-johansson/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/129213.html
Structure During Discovery
19 Structure on the Fly http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/05/07/12-19-structure-on-the-fly/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/129535.html
20 Retrofitting Structure into a First Draft http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/05/14/12-20-retrofitting-structure-into-a-first-draft/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/129735.html

21 Narrative Bumper Pool, with Bill Fawcett and Carrie Patel http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/05/21/12-21-narrative-bumper-pool-with-bill-fawcett-and-carrie-patel/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/129891.html
22 Hybrid Outlining and Discovery Writing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/05/28/12-22-hybrid-outlining-and-discovery-writing/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/130247.html
Structure in Outlining
23 Proposals, Pitches, and Queries http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/06/04/12-23-proposals-pitches-and-queries/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/130322.html
24 Creating Great Outlines http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/06/11/12-24-creating-great-outlines/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/130573.html
25 Hiring an Editor, with Callie Stoker http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/06/18/12-25-hiring-an-editor-with-callie-stoker/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/130869.html
26 Q&A on Outlining and Discovery Writing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/06/25/12-26-qa-on-outlining-and-discovery-writing/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/131312.html
Revision
27 Choosing a Length http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/07/02/12-27-choosing-a-length/
http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/131478.html
28 Trimming and Expanding http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/07/09/12-28-trimming-and-expanding/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/131638.html
29 "Oh Crap, The Cops Are Here!" With Joe McKinney  http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/07/16/12-29-oh-crap-the-cops-are-here-with-joe-mckinney/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/131917.html
30 Tools for Writers http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/07/23/12-30-tools-for-writers/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/132221.html
31 What Makes a Good Monster, with Courtney Alameda http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/07/30/12-31-what-makes-a-good-monster-with-courtney-alameda/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/132578.html
Building It for Brevity
32 Structuring a Short Piece http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/08/06/12-32-structuring-a-short-piece/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/132675.html
33 How to be Brief, Yet Powerful http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/08/13/12-33-how-to-be-brief-yet-powerful/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/133057.html
34 Fulfilling the Reader's Fantasy, with Brian McClellan http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/08/20/12-34-fulfilling-the-readers-fantasy-with-brian-mcclellan/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/133221.html
35 Short Fiction Markets, with Spencer Ellsworth and guest host Beth Meacham http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/08/27/12-35-short-fiction-markets-with-spencer-ellsworth-and-guest-host-beth-meacham/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/133543.html
Novelettes and Novellas
36 Structuring a Mid-Length Piece http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/09/03/12-36-structuring-a-mid-length-piece/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/133657.html
37 Subplots http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/09/10/12-37-subplots/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/134052.html
38 What Do Editors Really Want, with Toni Weisskopf and Cat Rambo
http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/09/17/12-38-what-do-editors-really-want-with-toni-weisskopf-and-cat-rambo/ http://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/134248.html
39 Q&A on Short(er) Fiction http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/09/24/12-39-qa-on-shorter-fiction/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/134412.html
Structuring a Novel
40 Structuring a Novel http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/10/01/12-40-structuring-a-novel/
https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/134778.html
41 Raising the Stakes http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/10/08/12-41-raising-the-stakes/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/134925.html
42 Adapting Your Stories for Game Play, with Alan Bahr http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/10/15/12-42-adapting-your-stories-for-game-play-with-alan-bahr/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/135314.html
Building It Big: Series and Serials
43 Serialized Storytelling
http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/10/22/12-43-serialized-storytelling/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/135614.html
44 NNaNoWriMo 2017 Primer http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/10/29/12-44-nanowrimo-2017-primer/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/135787.html
45 Structuring a Series http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/11/05/12-45-structuring-a-series/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/136087.html
46 Reinventing Yourself http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/11/12/12-46-reinventing-yourself/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/136433.html
47 Screenwriting And The Writers Room, with JD Payne http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/11/19/12-47-screenwriting-and-the-writers-room-with-jd-payne/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/136558.html
48 Q&A on Novels and Series, with Brian McClellan http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/11/26/12-48-qa-on-novels-and-series-with-brian-mcclellan/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/136780.htmll
Advanced Structure, and What Did We Miss?
49 Non-Linear Narratives http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/12/03/12-49-non-linear-narratives/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/137033.html
50 Form and Function http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/12/10/12-50-form-and-function/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/137385.html
51 Constructed Languages, with Dirk Elszinga http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/12/17/12-51-constructed-languages-with-dirk-elzinga/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/137517.html
52 Cross-Genres as Gateways http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/12/24/12-52-cross-genres-as-gateways/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/137857.html
53
Writing Excuses True Confessions http://www.writingexcuses.com/2017/12/31/12-53-writing-excuses-true-confessions/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/138064.html

Writing Excuses The Transcripts
Season One Index Season Two Index Season Three Index Season Four Index Season Five Index
Season Six Index Season Seven Index Season Eight Index Season Nine Index Season Ten Index
Season Eleven Index Season Twelve Index

If you find problems with this index or the transcripts, please let me know at mbarker at computer dot org!

Last modified: 1/4/2017