Season Thirteen: Characters!

Episode Topic Podcasts Transcripts
1 Hero, Protagonist, Main Character http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/01/07/13-1-hero-protagonist-main-character/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/138384.html
2 Writing Active Characters http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/01/14/13-2-writing-active-characters/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/138625.html
3 What Writers Get Wrong, with Aliette de Bodard http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/01/21/13-3-what-writers-get-wrong-with-aliette-de-bodard/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/138975.html
4 Protagonists Who Aren't Sympathetic http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/01/28/13-4-protagonists-who-arent-sympathetic/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/139085.html
5 Villain, Antagonist, Obstacle http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/02/04/13-5-villain-antagonist-obstacle/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/139457.html
6 NExternal Conflicts for Characters http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/02/11/13-6-external-conflicts-for-characters/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/139698.html
7 What Writers Get Wrong, with Lou Perry http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/02/18/13-7-what-writers-get-wrong-with-lou-perry/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/139964.html
8 Making Characters Distinctive http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/02/25/13-8-making-characters-distinctive/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/140286.html
9 Quick Characterization http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/03/04/13-9-quick-characterization/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/140457.html
10 Handling a Large Cast http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/03/11/13-10-handling-a-large-cast/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/140569.html
11 Writing Secondary Characters, with Charlaine Harris http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/03/18/13-11-writing-secondary-characters-with-charlaine-harris/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/140860.html
12 Q&A on Heroes, Villains, and Main Characters http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/03/25/13-12-qa-on-heroes-villains-and-main-characters/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/141178.html
13 Character Voice http://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/04/01/13-13-character-voice/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/141561.html
14 Character Nuance https://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/04/08/13-14-character-nuance/
https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/141598.html
15 What Writers Get Wrong, with Mike Stop Continues https://www.writingexcuses.com/2018/04/15/13-15-what-writers-get-wrong-with-mike-stop-continues/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/141997.html
16 Avoiding Flat Characters https://writingexcuses.com/2018/04/22/13-16-avoiding-flat-characters/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/142272.html
17 What Writers Get Wrong, with Jamahl Crouch https://writingexcuses.com/2018/04/29/13-17-what-writers-get-wrong-with-jamahl-crouch/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/142501.html
18 Naturally Revealing Character Motivation https://writingexcuses.com/2018/05/06/13-18-naturally-revealing-character-motivation/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/142681.html
19 Backstories https://writingexcuses.com/2018/05/13/13-19-backstories/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/143024.html
20 Fear and Writing, with Emma Newman https://writingexcuses.com/2018/05/20/13-20-fear-and-writing-with-emma-newman/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/143126.html
21 Q&A on Character Depth and Motivation https://writingexcuses.com/2018/05/27/13-21-qa-on-character-depth-and-motivation/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/143441.html
22 Character Arcs https://writingexcuses.com/2018/06/03/13-22-character-arcs/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/143751.html
23 Internal Conflicts https://writingexcuses.com/2018/06/10/13-23-internal-conflicts/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/144094.html
24 What Writers Get Wrong, with Piper, Aliette, and Wesley, with Special Guest Ken Liu https://writingexcuses.com/2018/06/17/13-24-what-writers-get-wrong-with-piper-aliette-and-wesley-with-special-guest-ken-liu/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/144171.html
25 Our Journey with Character https://writingexcuses.com/2018/06/24/13-25-our-journey-with-character/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/144588.html
26 Character Relationships ttps://writingexcuses.com/2018/07/01/13-26-character-relationships/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/144763.html
27 Characters As Foils https://writingexcuses.com/2018/07/08/13-27-characters-as-foils/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/145010.html
28 What Writers Get Wrong, with Wildstyle. https://writingexcuses.com/2018/07/15/13-28-what-writers-get-wrong-with-wildstyle/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/145202.html
29 Iconic Heroes https://writingexcuses.com/2018/07/22/13-29-iconic-heroes/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/145622.html
30 Project in Depth, THE CALCULATING STARS, with Kjell Lindgren. https://writingexcuses.com/2018/07/29/13-30-project-in-depth-the-calculating-stars-with-kjell-lindgren/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/145823.html
31 Learning to Listen As a Writer https://writingexcuses.com/2018/08/05/13-31-learning-to-listen-as-a-writer/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/146059.html
32 How to Handle Weighty Topics https://writingexcuses.com/2018/08/12/13-32-how-to-handle-weighty-topics/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/146214.html
33 Reading Outside the Box https://writingexcuses.com/2018/08/19/13-33-reading-outside-the-box/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/146520.html
Bonus-1
Bonus Episode – Elephants and Death, with Lawrence Schoen
https://writingexcuses.com/2018/08/22/13-b1-bonus-episode-elephants-and-death-with-lawrence-schoen/
https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/146703.html
34 Q&A on Character Arcs https://writingexcuses.com/2018/08/26/13-34-qa-on-character-arcs/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/146956.html
35 Cliché vs. Archetype https://writingexcuses.com/2018/09/02/13-35-cliche-vs-archetype/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/147353.html
36 Confronting the Default https://writingexcuses.com/2018/09/09/13-36-confronting-the-default/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/147466.html
37 What Writers Get Wrong, with JY Yang https://writingexcuses.com/2018/09/16/13-37-what-writers-get-wrong-with-j-y-yang/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/147856.html
38 How to Find and Use Alpha Readers https://writingexcuses.com/2018/09/23/13-38-how-to-find-and-use-alpha-readers/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/148078.html
39 What Writers Get Wrong, with Wendy Tolliver https://writingexcuses.com/2018/09/30/13-39-what-writers-get-wrong-with-wendy-tolliver/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/148224.html
40 Fixing Character Problems, Part I https://writingexcuses.com/2018/10/07/13-40-fixing-character-problems-part-i/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/148533.html
41 Fixing Character Problems, Part II https://writingexcuses.com/2018/10/14/13-41-fixing-character-problems-part-ii/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/148903.html
42 Writing Excuses Talks to an Astronaut, with Special Guest Kjell Lindgren https://writingexcuses.com/2018/10/21/13-42-writing-excuses-talks-to-an-astronaut-with-special-guest-kjell-lindgren/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/149071.html
43 Characters Who Are Smarter Than You Are https://writingexcuses.com/2018/10/28/13-43-characters-who-are-smarter-than-you-are/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/149327.html
NaNoWriMo Bonus 1
NaNoWriMo 2018 Mini-Episode 1
https://writingexcuses.com/2018/10/31/nanowrimo-2018-mini-episode-1/
https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/149698.html
44 Alien Characters https://writingexcuses.com/2018/11/04/13-44-alien-characters/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/149992.html
NaNoWriMo Bonus 2
NaNoWriMo 2018 Mini-Episode 2
https://writingexcuses.com/2018/11/07/nanowrimo-2018-mini-episode-2/
https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/150268.html
45 Next Level Narration https://writingexcuses.com/2018/11/11/13-45-next-level-narration/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/150331.html
NaNoWriMo Bonus 3
NaNoWriMo 2018 Bonus Episode, with Mercedes Lackey
https://writingexcuses.com/2018/11/15/nanowrimo-2018-bonus-episode-with-mercedes-lackey/
https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/150773.html
46 The Unsexy Side of Space, with Bart Smith and Ben Hewett https://writingexcuses.com/2018/11/18/13-46-the-unsexy-side-of-space-with-bart-smith-and-ben-hewett/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/150845.html

47 Q&A on Fixing Characters https://writingexcuses.com/2018/11/25/13-47-qa-on-fixing-characters/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/151265.html
48 Character Death and Plot Armor https://writingexcuses.com/2018/12/02/13-48-character-death-and-plot-armor/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/151517.html
49 How to Finish https://writingexcuses.com/2018/12/09/13-49-how-to-finish/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/151761.html
50 NWhat Writers Get Wrong, with Zoraida Córdova hhttps://writingexcuses.com/2018/12/16/13-50-what-writers-get-wrong-with-zoraida-cordova/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/151981.html
51 Wrap-Up on the Year of Character https://writingexcuses.com/2018/12/24/13-51-wrap-up-on-the-year-of-character/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/152111.html
52 Working Dad Is a Spaceman https://writingexcuses.com/2018/12/30/13-52-working-dad-is-a-spaceman/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/152486.html
** New Topic http://www.writingexcuses.com/waitforit/ https://wetranscripts.dreamwidth.org/XXX.html

Writing Excuses The Transcripts
Season One Index Season Two Index Season Three Index Season Four Index Season Five Index
Season Six Index Season Seven Index Season Eight Index Season Nine Index Season Ten Index
Season Eleven Index Season Twelve Index Season Thirteen Index

If you find problems with this index or the transcripts, please let me know at mbarker at computer dot org!

Last modified: 12/27/2017