Season Eight

Episode Topic Podcasts Transcripts
1 Micro-Casting http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/01/06/writing-excuses-8-1-microcasting/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/69602.html
2 Hero's Journey http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/01/13/writing-excuses-8-2-heros-journey/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/69634.html
3 Pets http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/01/21/writing-excuses-8-3-pets/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/69955.html
4 Side-Character Arcs http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/01/27/writing-excuses-8-4-side-character-arcs/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/70174.html
5 Breaking the Rules http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/02/03/writing-excuses-8-5-breaking-the-rules/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/70573.html
6 Retellings and Adaptations http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/02/10/writing-excuses-8-6-retellings-and-adaptations/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/70759.html
7 Cliffhangers and Icebergs with Robison Wells http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/02/17/writing-excuses-8-7-cliffhangers-and-icebergs-with-robison-wells/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/71238.html
8 Writing and Personal Health http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/02/24/writing-excuses-8-8-writing-and-personal-health/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/71576.html
9 Brainstorming with Howard http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/03/03/writing-excuses-8-9-brainstorming-with-howard/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/71844.html
10 Brainstorming with Howard Again http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/03/10/writing-excuses-8-10-brainstorming-with-howard-again/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/72027.html
11 Abnormal Psychology http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/03/17/writing-excuses-8-11-abnormal-psychology/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/72348.html
12 Project In Depth – Deus Ex Nauseum http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/03/24/writing-excuses-8-12-project-in-depth-deus-ex-nauseum/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/72669.html
13 Fake It Till You Make It http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/03/31/writing-excuses-8-13-fake-it-till-you-make-it/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/72729.html
14 Brainstorming with Brandon http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/04/07/writing-excuses-8-14-brainstorming-with-brandon/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/73018.html
15 Narrative Rhythm http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/04/14/writing-excuses-8-15-narrative-rhythm/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/73343.html
16 Brainstorming with Brandon Again http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/04/21/writing-excuses-8-16-brainstorming-with-brandon-again/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/73604.html
17 Micro-Casting http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/04/28/writing-excuses-8-17-microcasting/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/73866.html
18 Blocking http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/05/05/writing-excuses-8-18-blocking/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/74213.html
19 Writing and Convention Culture http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/05/12/writing-excuses-8-19-writing-and-convention-culture/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/74248.html
20 The Short Story, with Mary Robinette Kowal http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/05/19/writing-excuses-8-20-the-short-story-with-mary-robinette-kowal/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/74699.html
21 What the Avengers Did Right http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/05/26/writing-excuses-8-21-what-the-avengers-did-right/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/74992.html
22 Pre-Writing with E. J. Patten http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/06/02/writing-excuses-8-22-pre-writing-with-e-j-patten/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/75087.html
23 Micro-Casting http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/06/09/writing-excuses-8-23-microcasting/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/75324.html
24 Project In Depth – Kiss Me Twice http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/06/16/writing-excuses-8-24-project-in-depth-kiss-me-twice/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/75566.html
25 Middle Grade with E.J. Patten http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/06/23/writing-excuses-8-25-middle-grade-with-e-j-patten/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/75844.html
26 Space Opera http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/06/30/writing-excuses-8-26-space-opera/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/76093.html
27 Chapter Breakdowns http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/07/07/writing-excuses-8-27-chapter-breakdowns/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/76421.html
28 Your First Contract http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/07/14/writing-excuses-8-28-your-first-contract/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/76723.html
29 Out Of Excuses Retreat Q&A #1 http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/07/21/writing-excuses-8-29-out-of-excuses-retreat-qa-1/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/76895.html
30 Writing Reluctant Characters http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/07/28/writing-excuses-8-30-writing-reluctant-characters/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/77112.html
31 Combining Dialogue, Blocking, and Description http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/08/04/writing-excuses-8-31-combining-dialogue-blocking-and-description/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/77359.html
32 Micro-Casting http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/08/11/writing-excuses-8-32-microcasting/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/77808.html
33 Making Non-Human Characters Relatable http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/08/18/writing-excuses-8-33-making-non-human-characters-relatable/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/77999.html
34 Survivorship Bias http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/08/25/writing-excuses-8-34-survivorship-bias/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/78321.html
35 Digging Yourself Out Of Holes with Jeph Jacques http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/09/01/writing-excuses-8-35-digging-yourself-out-of-holes-with-jeph-jacques/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/78572.html
36 Transitioning Characters in Prominence http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/09/08/writing-excuses-8-36-transitioning-characters-in-prominence/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/78684.html
37 When Fail Happens in Your Career http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/09/15/writing-excuses-8-37-when-fail-happens-in-your-career/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/78855.html
38 Out Of Excuses Retreat Q & A #2 http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/09/22/writing-excuses-8-38out-of-excuses-retreat-qa-2/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/79232.html
39 Dystopian Fiction with Cherie Priest http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/09/29/writing-excuses-8-39-dystopian-fiction-with-cherie-priest/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/79515.html
40 Publishing with Bill Schafer http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/10/06/writing-excuses-8-40-publishing-with-bill-schafer/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/79742.html
41 Out of Excuses Retreat Microcasting http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/10/14/writing-excuses-8-41-out-of-excuses-retreat-microcasting/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/79939.html
42 The Internal Heckler vs. The Internal Editor http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/10/20/writing-excuses-8-42-the-internal-heckler-vs-the-internal-editor/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/80294.html
43 Realistic Melee Fighting with Wesley Chu http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/10/27/writing-excuses-8-43-realistic-melee-fighting-with-wesley-chu/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/80629.html
44 Talking Publishing with Tom Doherty http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/11/03/writing-excuses-8-44-talking-publishing-with-tom-doherty/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/80767.html
45 GenCon Q&A with Wesley Chu http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/11/10/writing-excuses-8-45-gencon-qa-with-wes-chu/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/80979.html
46 Editing with Aeryn Rudel http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/11/17/writing-excuses-8-46-editing-with-aeryn-rudel/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/81310.html
47 Roguishness with Scott Lynch http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/11/24/writing-excuses-8-47-roguishness-with-scott-lynch/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/81487.html
48 Long-Form Storytelling with Sam Logan http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/12/01/writing-excuses-8-48-long-form-storytelling-with-sam-logan/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/81689.html
49 Hard Social Science Fiction with Joel Shepherd http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/12/08/writing-excuses-8-49-hard-social-science-fiction-with-joel-shepherd/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/82407.html
50 Q & A with Mercedes Lackey http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/12/15/writing-excuses-8-50-qa-with-mercedes-lackey/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/82460.html
51 Creative non-fiction with Mette Ivie Harrison http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/12/22/writing-excuses-8-51-creative-non-fiction-with-mette-ivie-harrison// http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/82716.html
52 You Think You Don't Have Time to Write with Mette Ivie Harrison http://www.writingexcuses.com/2013/12/29/writing-excuses-8-52-you-think-you-dont-have-time-to-write-with-mette-ivie-harrison/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/83150.html

Writing Excuses The Transcripts Season One Index Season Two Index Season Three Index Season Four Index Season Six Index Season Seven Index

If you find problems with this index or the transcripts, please let me know at mbarker at computer dot org!

Last modified: Jan. 6, 2014