Season Eleven: Elemental Genres

Episode Topic Podcasts Transcripts
1 Introduction to Elemental Genre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/01/03/writing-excuses-11-1-introduction-to-elemental-genre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/110947.html
2 How to Get the Most Out Of a Conference, with Kathy Chung http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/01/10/11-2-how-to-get-the-most-out-of-a-conference-with-kathy-chung/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/111229.html
3 Layering the Elemental Genres http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/01/17/11-03-layering-the-elemental-genres/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/111564.html
4 Newton's Laws of Writing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/01/24/11-04-newtons-laws-of-writing/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/111719.html
5 Writing and World Building for Role-Playing Games http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/01/31/11-05-writing-and-world-building-for-role-playing-games/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/112120.html
Wonder
6 The Element of Wonder http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/02/07/11-06-the-element-of-wonder/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/112141.html
7 The Convention Survival Kit, with Gail Carriger http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/02/14/11-07-the-convention-survival-kit-with-gail-carriger/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/112483.html
8 Wonder As a Subgenre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/02/21/11-08-wonder-as-a-subgenre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/112757.html
9 Q&A on the Element of Wonder http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/02/28/11-09-qa-on-the-element-of-wonder/

http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/113101.html
Idea
10 Idea, As Genre, with Nancy Fulda http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/03/06/11-10-idea-as-genre-with-nancy-fulda/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/113173.html
11 Self-Publishing in 2016, with Michaelbrent Collins http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/03/13/11-11-self-publishing-in-2016-with-michaelbrent-collings/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/113618.html
12 Idea As Subgenre, with Nancy Fulda http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/03/20/11-12-idea-as-subgenre-with-nancy-fulda/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/113911.html
13 Elemental Idea Q&A http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/03/27/11-13-elemental-idea-qa/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/114154.html
Adventure
14 The Element of Adventure http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/04/03/11-14-the-element-of-adventure/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/114311.html
15 The Environment, with L. E. Modesitt, Jr.  http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/04/10/11-15-the-environment-with-l-e-modessit-jr/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/114465.html
16 Adventure as a Subgenre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/04/17/11-16-adventure-as-a-subgenre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/114879.html
17 Elemental Adventure Q&A http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/04/24/11-17-elemental-adventure-qa/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/115172.html
Horror
18 Elemental Horror http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/05/01/11-18-elemental-horror/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/115402.html
19 Fashion for Writers, with Rebecca McKinney http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/05/08/11-19-fashion-for-writers-with-rebecca-mckinney/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/115601.html
20 Horror As a Subgenre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/05/15/11-20-horror-as-a-subgenre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/115837.html
21 Q&A on Elemental Horror, With Steve Diamond http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/05/22/11-21-qa-on-elemental-horror-with-steve-diamond/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/116027.html
22 Examining Unconscious Biases, with Shannon Hale http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/05/29/11-22-examining-unconscious-biases-with-shannon-hale/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/116231.html
Mystery
23 The Element of Mystery http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/06/05/11-23-the-element-of-mystery/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/116596.html
24 Stakes! http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/06/12/11-24-stakes/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/116819.html
25 Elemental Mystery Is Everywhere http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/06/19/11-25-elemental-mystery-is-everywhere/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/117085.html
26 Elemental Mystery Q&A http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/06/26/11-26-elemental-mystery-qa/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/117337.html
Thriller
27 the Elemental Thriller http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/07/03/11-27-the-elemental-thriller/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/117582.html
28 Imposter Syndrome, with Alyssa Wong http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/07/10/11-28-impostor-syndrome-with-alyssa-wong/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/117933.html
29 Elemental Thriller As Subgenre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/07/17/11-29-elemental-thriller-as-a-subgenre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/118249.html
30 Elemental Thriller Q&A http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/07/24/11-30-elemental-thriller-qa/
http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/118477.html
31 Futurism, with Trina Marie Phillips http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/07/31/11-31-futurism-with-trina-marie-phillips/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/118532.html
Humor
32 The Element of Humor http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/08/07/11-32-the-element-of-humor/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/118930.html
33 Crossover Fiction, with Victoria Schwab http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/08/14/11-33-crossover-fiction-with-victoria-schwab/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/119122.html
34 Humor as a Sub-Genre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/08/21/11-34-humor-as-a-sub-genre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/119326.html
35 Elemental Humor Q&A with Victoria Schwab http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/08/28/11-35-elemental-humor-qa-with-victoria-schwab/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/119620.html
Relationship
36 The Elemental Relationship http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/09/04/11-36-the-elemental-relationship/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/119882.html
37 Casting Your Book, with Gama Martinez http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/09/11/11-37-casting-your-book-with-gama-martinez/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/120224.html

38 The Elemental Relationship As a Sub-Genre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/09/18/11-38-the-elemental-relationship-as-a-sub-genre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/120474.html
39 New Topic http://www.writingexcuses.com/waitforit/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/XXX.html
Drama
40 Elemental Drama http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/02/11-40-elemental-drama/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/121080.html
41 The Editor's Wishlist, with Navah Wolfe http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/09/11-41-the-editors-wish-list-with-navah-wolfe/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/121101.html
Bonus-01
Characterization and Differentiation, With Robin Hobb
http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/12/11-bonus-01-characterization-and-differentiation-with-robin-hobb/
http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/121439.html
42 Elemental Drama As a Sub-Genre http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/16/11-42-elemental-drama-as-a-sub-genre/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/121661.html
43 Elemental Drama Q&A, with Tananarive Due http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/23/11-43-elemental-drama-qa-with-tananarive-due/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/121886.html
44 Project in Depth, GHOST TALKERS, by Mary Robinette Kowal http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/30/11-44-project-in-depth-ghost-talkers-by-mary-robinette-kowal/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/122112.html
Bonus-02 Horrifying the Children, with Darren Shan http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/10/31/11-bonus-02-horrifying-the-children-with-darren-shan/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/122622.html
Bonus-03 Some Books Have Maps in the Front, with Maurice Broaddus, Mur Lafferty, and James Sutter http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/11/03/11-bonus-03-some-books-have-maps-in-the-front-with-maurice-broaddus-mur-lafferty-and-james-sutter/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/122687.html
Issue
45 Elemental Issue, with Desiree Burch http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/11/06/11-45-elemental-issue-with-desiree-burch/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/122933.html
46 Colonialism with Steven Barnes, Tempest Bradford, Dongwon Song, and Shveta Thakrar http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/11/13/11-46-colonialism-with-steven-barnes-tempest-bradford-dongwon-song-and-shveta-thakrar/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/123223.html
47 Issue As a Subgenre, with Steven Barnes http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/11/20/11-47-issue-as-a-subgenre-with-steven-barnes/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/123554.html
48 Elemental Issue Q&A, with DongWon Song http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/11/27/11-48-elemental-issue-qa-with-DongWon-song/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/123802.html
Bonus-04
Fantasy Food, with Elizabeth Bear and Scott Lynch
http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/11/29/11-bonus-04-fantasy-food-with-elizabeth-bear-and-scott-lynch/
http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/124044.html
Ensemble
49 Elemental Ensemble, with Michael Damian Thomas http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/12/04/11-49-elemental-ensemble-with-michael-damien-thomas/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/124333.html
50 Hand-Selling Your Book to Potential Readers, with Michael R. Underwood http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/12/11/11-50-hand-selling-your-book-to-potential-readers-with-michael-r-underwood/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/124538.html
51 Ensemble As a Sub-Genre, with Lynne M. Thomas http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/12/18/11-51-ensemble-as-a-sub-genre-with-lynne-m-thomas/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/124677.html
52 Elemental Ensemble Q&A, with Claudia Gray http://www.writingexcuses.com/2016/12/24/11-52-elemental-ensemble-qa-with-claudia-gray/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/124977.html
** New Topic http://www.writingexcuses.com/waitforit/ http://wetranscripts.livejournal.com/XXX.html

Writing Excuses The Transcripts
Season One Index Season Two Index Season Three Index Season Four Index Season Five Index
Season Six Index Season Seven Index Season Eight Index Season Nine Index Season Ten Index

If you find problems with this index or the transcripts, please let me know at mbarker at computer dot org!

Last modified: 04/01/2016