Season Five

Episode Topic Podcasts Transcripts
1 Third Person Limited http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/09/07/we-5-1-third-person-limited/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/194829.html
2 Character Quirks http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/09/12/we-5-2-character-quirks/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/195439.html
3 First Person Viewpoint http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/09/19/writing-excuses-5-3-first-person-viewpoint/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/195722.html
4 Creating Suspense http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/09/26/writing-excuses-5-4-creating-suspense/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/192423.html
5 Writing the Unfamiliar http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/10/03/writing-excuses-5-5-writing-the-unfamiliar/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/193960.html
6 Micropodcasts http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/10/10/writing-excuses-5-6-micropodcasts/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/194643.html
7 Avoiding Melodrama http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/10/17/writing-excuses-5-7-avoiding-melodrama/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/195206.html
8 The Excuses You're Out Of http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/10/24/writing-excuses-5-8-the-excuses-youre-out-of/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/196034.html
9 Character Arcs with John Brown http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/10/31/writing-excuses-5-9-character-arcs/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/196290.html
10 John Brown and the Creative Process http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/11/07/writing-excuses-5-10-john-brown-and-the-creative-process/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/196480.html
11 Micro-Casting Number Two http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/11/14/writing-excuses-5-11-micropocasting-2/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/197008.html
13 How do you write the second book? http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/11/21/writing-excuses-5-13-writing-the-second-book/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/197402.html
14 Visual Components of Novels with Scott Westerfeld http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/11/28/writing-excuses-5-14-visual-components-of-novels-with-scott-westerfeld/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/198302.html
15 Steampunk with Scott Westerfeld http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/12/05/writing-excuses-5-15-steampunk-with-scott-westerfeld/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/198734.html
12 Time Travel! http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/12/12/writing-excuses-5-12-time-travel/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/199342.html
16 Critiquing Dan's First Novel http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/12/19/writing-excuses-5-16-critiquing-dans-first-novel/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/199741.html
17 Dialogue Exercises http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/12/27/writing-excuses-5-17-dialog-exercises/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/200385.html
18 Offending Your Readers http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/01/02/writing-excuses-5-18-offending-your-readers/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/200650.html
19 Fulfilling Promises to Your Readers http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/01/09/writing-excuses-5-19-fulfilling-promises-to-your-readers/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/201370.html
20 More Dialogue Exercises http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/01/16/writing-excuses-5-20-more-dialog-exercises/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/201686.html
21 Alternate History http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/01/23/writing-excuses-5-21-alternate-history/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/387.html
22 Film Considerations http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/01/30/writing-excuses-5-22-film-considerations/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/8583.html
YouTube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wJ_3sqyG6g http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/11359.html
23 Life Day! http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/02/06/writing-excuses-5-23-life-day/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/15520.html
YouTube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ly7ji_-qaI8  
24 Author's Responsibility to the Reader http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/02/13/writing-excuses-5-24-the-authors-responsibility-to-the-reader/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/22197.html
25 Writing in Other People's Universes http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/02/20/writing-excuses-5-25-writing-in-other-peoples-universes/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/30157.html
26 Scared for the Characters http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/02/27/writing-excuses-5-26-scared-for-the-characters/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/41681.html
27 Perseverance http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/03/06/writing-excuses-5-27-perseverance/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/42484.html
28 ePublishing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/03/13/writing-excuses-5-28-e-publishing/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/42691.html
29 Rewriting http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/03/20/writing-excuses-5-29-rewriting/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/42967.html
30 Writing Action http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/03/27/writing-excuses-5-30-writing-action/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/43023.html
31 Writing Romance http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/04/03/writing-excuses-5-31-writing-romance/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/43427.html
32 Urban Fantasy http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/04/10/writing-excuses-5-32-urban-fantasy/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/43555.html
33 Alpha Readers http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/04/17/writing-excuses-5-33-alpha-readers/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/43836.html
34 Story Bibles http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/04/24/writing-excuses-5-34-story-bibles/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/44114.html
35 Brainstorming an Urban Fantasy http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/05/01/writing-excuses-5-35-brainstorming-urban-fantasy/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/44324.html
36 Non-traditional Settings with Saladin Ahmed http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/05/08/writing-excuses-5-36-non-traditional-settings-with-saladin-ahmed/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/44776.html
37 Parody and Satire with Jim Hines http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/05/15/writing-excuses-season-5-37-parody-and-satire-with-jim-hines/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/45033.html
38 Dialog with John Scalzi http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/05/22/writing-excuses-5-38-dialog-with-john-scalzi/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/45214.html
39 Filking and writing music with Tom Smith http://www.writingexcuses.com/2011/05/29/writing-excuses-5-39-filking-and-writing-music-with-tom-smith/ http://community.livejournal.com/wetranscripts/45416.html

Writing Excuses The Transcripts Season One Index Season Two Index Season Three Index Season Four Index Season Six Index

If you find problems with this index or the transcripts, please let me know at mbarker at computer dot org!

Last modified: 9/16/11