Season Four

Episode Topic Podcasts Transcripts
1 Types of Humor http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/01/11/writing-excuses-4-1-types-of-humor/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/131493.html
2 Heroism http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/01/17/writing-excuses-4-2-heroism/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/131611.html
3 How to Manage Your Influences http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/01/24/writing-excuses-4-3-how-to-manage-your-influences/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/132173.html
4 Agents -- do you need one? http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/01/31/writing-excuses-4-4-agents-do-you-need-one/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/132605.html
5 Role-playing in games as a tool for storytelling http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/02/07/writing-excuses-4-5-roleplaying-games-as-a-tool-for-story-telling/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/133187.html
6 James Dashner's Lessons on Pacing
http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/02/14/writing-excuses-4-6-pacing-with-james-dashner/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/134079.html
7 Questions and Answers with James Dashner http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/02/21/writing-excuses-4-7-qa-with-james-dashner/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/134177.html
8 Working with Editors http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/02/28/writing-excuses-4-8-working-with-editors/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/134428.html
9 How to Write Men http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/03/07/writing-excuses-4-9-how-to-write-men-with-jessica-day-george/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/136173.html
10 Writing for Young Adults http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/03/14/writing-excuses-4-10-writing-for-young-adults/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/136196.html
11 Jordo Tries to Stump Us http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/03/21/writing-excuses-4-11-brainstorming-examples/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/136654.html
12 Writing Epics http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/03/28/writing-excuses-4-12-writing-epics/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/138501.html
13 Juggling Multiple Viewpoints http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/04/04/writing-excuses-4-13-juggling-multiple-viewpoints/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/139883.html
14 Brainstorming Science Ideas http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/04/11/writing-excuses-4-14-brainstorming-science-ideas/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/143559.html
15 Visual Components of Storytelling http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/04/18/writing-excuses-4-15-visual-compenents-of-storytelling/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/144886.html
16 Breaking the Fourth Wall http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/04/25/writing-excuses-4-16-breaking-the-fourth-wall/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/148028.html
17 Living with the Artist http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/05/02/writing-excuses-4-17-living-with-the-artist/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/149908.html
18 How to Steal for Fun and Profit http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/05/09/writing-excuses-4-18-how-to-steal-for-fun-and-profit/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/150424.html
19 Discovery Writing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/05/16/writing-excuses-4-19-discovery-writing-2/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/153170.html
20 Strategies for Getting Published http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/05/23/writing-excuses-4-20-strategies-for-getting-published/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/155351.html
21 Writing Practical Fantasy http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/05/30/writing-excuses-4-21-writing-practical-fantasy/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/157661.html
22 Q&A at CONduit with LE Modesitt, Jr. http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/06/06/writing-excuses-4-22-qa-with-l-e-modesitt-jr/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/159822.html
23 How to break into the young adult market http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/06/13/writing-excuses-4-23-how-to-break-in-to-the-young-adult-market/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/162581.html
24 Random storytelling with James and Julie http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/06/20/writing-excuses-4-24-random-storytelling/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/167584.html
25 Mating Plumage http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/06/27/writing-excuses-4-25-mating-plumage/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/167803.html
26 Avoiding Stilted Dialogue http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/07/05/writing-excuses-4-26-avoiding-stilted-dialog/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/170333.html
27 Major Overhauls to Broken Stories http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/07/11/writing-excuses-4-27-major-overhauls-to-broken-stories/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/173133.html
28 Brainstorming the End and Working Backwards http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/07/18/writing-excuses-4-28-brainstorming-the-end-and-working-backwards/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/175615.html
29 Line Editing http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/07/25/writing-excuses-4-29-line-editing/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/177655.html
30 World Building the Future http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/08/01/writing-excuses-4-30-worldbuilding-the-future/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/179598.html
31 Line Editing Dialogue http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/08/08/writing-excuses-4-31-line-editing-dialog/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/181433.html
32 First Paragraphs http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/08/15/writing-excuses-4-32-first-paragraphs/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/182990.html
33 Trunk Novels http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/08/22/writing-excuses-4-33-trunk-novels/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/184660.html
34 Q&A at Dragons and Fairy Tales
http://www.writingexcuses.com/2010/08/29/writing-excuses-4-34-qa-at-dragons-fairy-tales/ http://mbarker.livejournal.com/187312.html

Writing Excuses The Transcripts Season One Index Season Two Index Season Three Index

If you find problems with this index or the transcripts, please let me know at mbarker at computer dot org!

Last modified: 9/29/11